Scrapbook - 40 Years of Light Cone

Francuski institut Scrapbook - 40 godina Light Conea, 22/09/2022 – 09/10/2022

On the occasion of Light Cone's 40th anniversary, the festival will host the SCRAPBOOK exhibition, a unique micro-collection of personal items and artifacts of renowned avant-garde and experimental filmmakers (Michael Snow, Peter Gidal, Rose Lowder, Maurice Lemaître, Peter Tscherkassky...) whose works Light Cone has been archiving and distributing for years. These pieces were gathered as contributions to an actual Scrapbook published by Light Cone earlier this year, which will be on sale at the exhibition venue. Light Cone's director, Emmanuel Lefrant, who has curated the exhibition for Zagreb, will speak about the context of this project, the history of the archive and the challenges of distributing experimental film live at the opening of the exhibition, on September 22 at 12pm. The exhibition remains open until October 9 and can be visited from Tuesday to Friday from 12 - 7pm and on Saturdays 10am - 2pm at French Institute, Preradovićeva 5.

Light Cone is a Paris-based independent archive and distributor of experimental film. It was founded in 1982 by filmmakers yann beauvais and Miles McKane, following the model of film cooperatives in New York and London, with the aim of promoting, educating and providing greater visibility to the authors of alternative and experimental films. It is one of the richest and most important archives of experimental and avant-garde film in Europe, which today gathers over an impressive 6,000 film titles and represents over 800 filmmakers.

Michel Amarger, Martin Arnold, Caroline Avery, Giuseppe Boccassini, Patrick Bokanowski, Robert Breer, Dietmar Brehm, Claudio Caldini, Stefano Canapa, Pip Chodorov, Martha Colburn, Philippe Cote, Sandra Davis, Karel Doing, Cécile Fontaine, Olivier Fouchard, Su Friedrich, Peter Gidal, Girame, Masha Godovannaya, Christophe Guérin, Nicky Hamlyn, Teo Hernandez, Tony Hill, Heather Frise/Mike Hoolboom, Patrice Kirchhofer, Alexandre Larose, Christian Lebrat, Emmanuel Lefrant, Maurice Lemaître, Jeanne Liotta, Rose Lowder, Johann Lurf, Mara Mattuschka, Bruce McClure, Miles McKane, Luc Meichler, Peter Miller, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Ojoboca, Simon Payne, Charlotte Pryce, Gisèle Rapp-Meichler, D.N. Rodowick, Gaëlle Rouard, Pierre Rovere, Ben Russell, Daïchi Saïto, Maki Satake, Sylvia Schedelbauer, Stanley Schtinter, John Smith, Vicky Smith, Michael Snow, Mika Taanila, Marcelle Thirache, Peter Tscherkassky, David Wharry, Telemach Wiesinger, Antoinette Zwirchmayr.


Photo: Peter Tscherkassky: Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (1959); Philippe Cote / All rights reserved by the artist(s) - Courtesy of Light Cone

Thu 22/9 French Institute 12:00